25 Years of Reunification

Free Newspaper to celebrate 25 years reunification

Free Newspaper to celebrate 25 years reunification

I remember being in an assembly at school and the headmaster showing us some stones. He asked us if we knew why he was showing them. Most of us thought that someone had thrown them into the neighbours greenhouse again and we were in trouble! Instead, he told us about the Berlin wall coming down and Germany being one country again. I was eight, so most of it I didn’t understand and I especially did not understand that without this event my life would turn out very differently. I would never have met my husband or had my children or live here at all if this had not happened. I’m very glad it did. Yesterday we had a bonfire in Kromsdorf to start the celebratory feeling.

Bonfire in Kromsdorf

Bonfire in Kromsdorf

Today we celebrated 25 years of official reunification (the border was first crossed nearly a year earlier in November 1989 in Berlin). In Weimar there was a very apt refugees welcome party which we went to and saw people from here and far having a good time together with music, food, dance and craft.

Refugees Welcome Party in Weimar

Refugees Welcome Party in Weimar

The sun was shining and it felt really positive to celebrate the end of GDR with an open-minded, global message of acceptance.

Leave a Reply

